Saturday, 5 November 2016

Various Facts about Eugene dui lawyer Charges And Penalties In Oregon

Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is a punishable offense and Oregon government has some strict DUI law as they want to safeguard their citizen. Suppose you were charged with DUI in Oregon, then you seek to assist from any kind of the DUI lawyer like a Eugene dui lawyer, who will help you with all legal processes and assess your case. However, if your offenses are small or first time, then there is a chance that you are likely to be charged with minor penalties or else some heavy penalty will be waiting for you.  

As a citizen of Oregon, you should have a proper knowledge about some details of DUI laws and penalties so that it would easy for you to handle the charges. Generally, an officer will charge you with DUI when they catch you driving with a BAC level of 0.08 or greater, and they will determine this using breathalyzer test. If the degree of charge is higher, the police officer might take you to the police station for BAC test, which might be a blood test, chemical test or simply breathe test. Even if your BAC level is below .08, the officer may still charge for DUI, depending on the situation.

DUI Punishments 

DUI penalties vary slightly, and most of the time the offender has to face harsh punishment along with the suspension of license, fines and often jail time. However, these penalties depend on some factors and these factors are:

  1. The number of times you have been charged with a DUI offense. 
  2. Whether your co-passenger is below 18 or three years younger than you during DUI offense.  
  3. Blood alcohol content level.
  4. Situation perceived by the arresting officer.

The penalties are often divided into two types which are DUI first offense and Second DUI offense. For Oregon DUI first offense, you are likely to be charged with low-level penalties which include: 
  1. Eighty-hour community work or two days jail, which might range up to one year.
  2. Fine of $1000 and it will increase to $2000 if the BAC is higher than 0.15. These charges can be avoided using the DUiI diversion Oregon program.   
  3. The driving license will be suspended for a minimum period of one year.
  4. The car will be integrated with an ignition interlock device after you have completed one-year license suspension period. You have to give a BAC test before starting your car and if you fail, the car won't start.
  5. Participation in alcohol and drug program.
Penalties for Second dui in Oregon are:
  1. One year jail term. 
  2. Three years of suspension of the driving license.
  3. Participation in alcohol and drug program. 
  4. Inclusion in the casualty’s Impact Panel curriculum. 
A minimum fine of $1500, which can range up to $2000 depending upon the BAC level. This fine can also range up to $10000, if there is a child in your car during DUI charge.

No comments:

Post a Comment